God talked to me in church today…

(surprising, eh?)

The passage was 2 Timothy 1:7-14, and Darren was talking about the calling of God on our lives. Darren kept mentioning how following God’s call is not an easy thing to do, but once God has called you, it’s like there is absolutely nothing else you can do. He compared it to being in love with someone and saying not “I can live with them” but “I can’t live without them”.

I started thanking God for the call he’s given me, for how excited I am to do something, go someplace, to Ireland, to Rwanda, to Russia, to Guatemala, to India. But then God asked me, “Are you willing to serve me when it’s boring? Are you willing to not go somewhere exotic? What if I tell you to live in the States?”

And my heart sank.

And I didn’t know what to say.

2 thoughts on “God talked to me in church today…

  1. Mandy says:

    God loves to remind us that we don’t plan our own lives. But we never really know what’s best for us, so that’s wonderful news! I am sure, wherever God places you, the word to describe it will not be “boring”, whether or not that’s in Kabul, or Upland, IN.

    Saying all this is easy, but in practice… I’m just as uneasy as you.

  2. melissa says:

    if you think about it traditionally…wouldn’t where ever God put you be amazing? I am not saying that you should think this way. I wonder the same thing. It would be awesome to serve somewhere exciting..in the sense that I don’t think I could do the whole in the jungle thing.

    To be honest…I’m DEAD scared.

    But I’m also trying to trust God?

    How does that work?

Leave a Reply

