"How are you?"

I used to be annoyed with this question, just because it’s usually asked in passing and not really considerately. I don’t really mind now. What I do mind is my own response to it. Here are some of my recent responses to “How are you?”

It’s sunny today! (=good)
It’s cold and rainy. (=bad)
They have snickerdoodles! (=good)
I got two extra hours of sleep! (=good)
I’m so busy. (=bad)

Why have I decided that how I am doing is circumstantial? Why is my wellbeing dependent on my surroundings? Where is that peace that passes all understanding?

Leave a Reply

