fortified?

Today the sermon at Bent Tree was on life in Christ, with others. Steve Pruitt, who was teaching, talked about how community was inextricably linked with evangelism, but that many times what we do in the church is separate the two, accentuating community. We “fortify” ourselves in our community, thinking we need to protect the presence of God from those others out there.

And I realized that in too many ways my life is fortified. Christian high school and college. Christian missionary community. Christian mega-church. Christian summer employment.

I also realized that I’m not sure I’ve ever had a non-Christian friend. Maybe when I was 3. I don’t even know about then.

I need to get out of here, need to venture outside these walls and see what real life looks like.

One thought on “fortified?

  1. Angie says:

    I like to think of “being fortified” as charging your batteries… when you’re fully charged, your light can shine so brightly! I have attended or taught at/worked with public schools much of my life (except undergrad degree), and that fortification/charging made a difference.

Leave a Reply

