I never knew goodbyes could be this hard

I’m talking, of course, about a shirt.

I bought this shirt in Ireland. It was quite cute, and I think only €5. Here I am wearing it on a castle ledge. How picturesque.

But here’s my dilemma: It’s long overdue to pitch. It’s a nice shirt, but shouldn’t be worn to nice places. It’s way pilly all over, and has a big stain on the front. I don’t want to wear it, and I don’t want to give it to anyone else because while it’s pretty, it’s not in the best condition.

And yet, I can’t bring myself to throw it away. I know that there are plenty of people in this world who would like most of all just to be clothed and it would pain me to throw away a shirt that could be worn perfectly well.

But I don’t want to donate it because I don’t want it to seem like the people who would profit from it would need only second rate clothing.

I suppose this sort of thinking is where that old adage came from. You know, “Eat your peas, children in China are starving”?

So what should I do? Suggestions?

One thought on “I never knew goodbyes could be this hard

  1. Emily says:

    Turn it into a pillow.

Leave a Reply

