Uzbekistan

In doing research for a project this past semester, I came upon this report. It details the use of forced labor (including child labor) in the Uzbek cotton harvest. Uzbek cotton is one of the largest exports of the country, and from there is often processed in Bangladesh, a country notorious for the exploitation of workers. The process continues until we buy the clothes from well-known stores here in the US.

I was aware of many of the parts of this process, but reading that report about forced labor in Uzbekistan has really stuck with me. I can’t get it out of my head. Since then, I’ve tried to find a way to get involved. You can petition corporations to boycott Uzbek cotton, but what I’m wondering is if there are any organizations working in Uzbekistan directly with the children, or trying to persuade the government.

Anyone know of anything or have any leads?

Leave a Reply

