A Time to Lose, and a Time to Win

And you have the chance to do either.

 

This morning I woke up having constructed the middle two lines of a limerick in my sleep. They are as follows:

It was somewhat a humble narration
Not very long in duration

. . . . . .  but what? I really can’t construct the rest (it seems to me a form of cheating on my subconscious), so I’m going to let you partner with my sleepy self and find the best surrounding lines for this most excellent limerick. Please leave a comment containing the whole of your suggested limerick. If you feel the need to tweak the inner lines a bit, I will allow such changes. However, both the judging panel and the author do frown a bit on such practices.

There will be prizes.

Food will almost definitely be involved. I will even mail you food.

Some limitations apply. And by “prizes,” I probably mean just one prize.

5 thoughts on “A Time to Lose, and a Time to Win

  1. The bio of Sir Edmund Leppuk
    Despite his adventures most hectic
    Was a humble narration
    Not long in duration
    But in scale it was completely epic.

  2. Angie says:

    a little explanation first… Barton Rees Pogue was a poet from Upland – in fact, our town library is named after him. I’m not horribly fond of his poetic style, but we like the library. :)
    So here you have it:

    Upland’s Poet

    There once was a poet named Pogue
    who spoke in a thick Hoosier brogue.
    His simple narration,
    not long in duration
    became, for its time, quite in vogue.

  3. dearhezzie says:

    It was somewhat a humble narration
    And not very long in duration
    But a poem in her sleep
    From her sub-conscious deep
    Is cause for great adulation.

  4. Angie says:

    Contemplating today, I revised this in my head. So I thought I’d give the updated version, rather than dreaming about it tonight. :)

    Upland’s Poet

    A poet named Barton Rees Pogue
    spoke in a Hoosier-ish brogue.
    His humble narration,
    not long in duration
    became, for its time, quite in vogue.

  5. applenorange says:

    A grad student, once, while a-quinceing
    Read a poem on the values of mincing
    It was somewhat a humble narration
    Not very long in duration
    But it was, nonetheless, quite convincing.

Leave a Reply

